TEMA: 12 Tennessee counties get help after Memorial Day storms

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WVLT) -- Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam announced 12 counties will receive federal aid assistance through a Presidential Disaster Declaration as the recovery process continues in several areas from the severe storms and straight-line winds of May 27, and May 28, 2017.

“Local, state, and federal partners came together in a collaborative effort to assess impacts rapidly so we could have accurate storm damage data and illustrate our need for a disaster declaration to President Trump,” Haslam said. “I am grateful to all the first responders, emergency managers, and community members who have united to help others recover from the impact of these storms.”

Blount, Cumberland, Fayette, Knox, Loudon, Morgan, Putnam, Rhea, Roane, Sevier, Shelby and Smith are the counties included in the presidential declaration.

These counties are eligible for the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Public Assistance program. This will allow government entities and certain private non-profits to apply for reimbursement of specific, eligible expenses from the emergency.

FEMA has not decided on Gov. Haslam's request for individual aid for Shelby County.

Storms began moving across Tennessee on May 27, and 19 counties in Middle and East Tennessee reported local power outages, downed trees, blocked roads and home damages.