November Update III

With the deadline of August 16 for the November election coming on, here is the latest update on candidates  who may be seeking office.

In Greenback, the mayor, Tom Peeler has picked up a petition for re-election and as of yet has no opponent. Also three of the four incumbent aldermen/persons,  Becky Andrews, Dwayne Burchfield and Polly Evans have all picked up petitions for re-election. Alderman and vice mayor hasn't yet picked up a petition.

Three other candidates have also picked up petitions to seek alderman positions. Carrie Coada, Delmar Davis and Richard Frost. None of the candidates have yet filed their petitions with the election commission to qualify to run.

In the Lenoir City race, not much has changed since the last update. Mayor Tony Aikens is the only mayoral candidate. All three incumbent Lenoir City councilmen, Bobby Johnson Sr., Eddie Simpson and Harry Wampler have qualified to seek re-election. All three incumbent Lenoir City school board members, Rick Chadwick, Mitch Ledbetter and Glenn McNish have picked up petitions to seek re-election. Chadwick and Mc Nish have already qualified. Ledbetter hasn't yet filed his petition.

Becky Watkins, who ran for a seat on council back in 2010, has picked up a petition to run for council in November. Watkins came up short less than 40 votes to make it onto council back in 2010. Watkins hasn't yet filed her petition.

Randall J. Brown has picked up a petition to seek the office of Treasurer/Recorder in the November election. This race has a bit of a twist however. The August ballot will present the question to the voters of Lenoir City as to whether to keep the Treasurer/Recorder position as an elected position or to change it to an appointed position. If the voters change the position to appointed, Mr. Brown's petition to seek the office will become null and void.

In Philadelphia, Johnny D. Drinnon and James Russell has picked up to run for Mayor. Only Russell has qualified so far.

Four candidates have picked petitions to run for an alderman/person position. Anita and Paul Stallings have picked up petitions to seek seats on the council along with Lynn Marlow and Jeff Marlow. None of the alderman candidates have yet qualified to run.

Paul Stallings is the current mayor, elected back in 2008. Stallings edged our Johnny Drinnon, who has picked up to run for mayor, by only one vote back in 2008.

Candidates for any of the offices on the November 6th election have until noon on August 16th to qualify.

Position/Location Name Issued Returned Qualified
Mayor Tom Peeler 7/16/2012    
Aldermen Rebecca Andrews 6/18/2012    
  Walter Birchfield 6/18/2012    
  Carrie Coada 7/3/2012    
  Delmar L. Davis 7/11/2012    
  Polly Evans 7/18/2012    
  Richard Frost 7/17/2012    
Lenoir City
  Tony Aikens 5/18/2012 5/18/2012 5/18/2012
City Council        
  Bobby Johnson, Sr. 5/18/2012 6/28/2012 6/28/2012
  Eddie Simpson 5/18/2012 5/21/2012 5/21/2012
  Harry Wampler 5/18/2012 6/12/2012 6/12/2012
  Becky Watkins 6/1/2012    
City Recorder/Treasurer        
  Randall J. Brown 6/8/2012 7/16/2012 7/16/2012
City Board of Education Members        
  Rick Chadwick 5/18/2012 5/21/2012 5/21/2012
  Mitch Ledbetter 6/7/2012    
  Glenn Mc Nish 5/21/2012 6/13/2012 6/13/2012
  Johnny D. Drinnon 5/21/2012    
  James Russell 5/25/2012 7/11/2012 7/11/2012
  Anita Stallings 6/5/2012    
  Paul Stallings 6/5/2012    
  Lynn Marlow 7/16/2012    
  Jeff Marlow 7/20/2012