Here In The 5th District

Loudon County is divided into seven districts with ten commissioners. The 1st, 2nd and 5th districts have two commissioners each the rest of the districts have only one commissioner each. The number of commissioners is based on the population of each district.

Here in the 5th District, where I live and where I'm running for county commission, we have two commissioners. They're designated as seat "A" and seat "B". The current seat "A" incumbent is Harold Duff. Mr. Duff is being challenged by Richard Truit. The current seat "B" incumbent is me, Van Shaver. I am being challenged by Sharon Yarbrough.

When 5th district voters go to the polls you will be able to vote for one candidate in each seat. Of course my preference would be that they vote for "Van Shaver" in seat "B" but none the less, you do get to vote for one candidate for each seat.

The 5th district is also divided into two precincts, Browder and Eaton. All the 5th district south of Interstate 75 are in the Browder precinct. All others are in the Eaton Precinct. If you vote early it really makes no difference which precinct you are in. If you vote on election day, Eaton precinct voters will vote at North Middle School while Browder precinct voters vote at Eaton Elementary School.

Voting early sure makes it easy and convenient.