Election Winners Sworn In

Author: Mary E. Hinds
Source: News-Herald

Loudon County Mayor Doyle Arp swore in five newly elected officials Monday night in a brief ceremony at the Courthouse Annex. 


Accompanied by family, four newly elected members of the Loudon County School Board and Property Assessor Charles “Chuck” Jenkins took their oaths. 


Lisa Russell, who defeated incumbent Larry Bass to represent Greenback in District 3; Gary Ubben, who defeated incumbent Freddie Walker Jr. for the District 5, Seat A position; Van Shaver, who won over incumbent June Klinstiver to represent District 5 for the Seat B post; and Craig Simon, who defeated incumbent Nancy Paule in District 7 were sworn in as new Director of Loudon County Schools Wayne Honeycutt looked on. 


Arp told the audience re-elected school board incumbent Bill Marcus had a work obligation and would be sworn in Tuesday while school board member Scott Newman had already taken his oath. Newly elected County Commissioner Austin Shaver, who won the District 2, Seat B position, had also taken the oath of office earlier.

“As of Sept. 1 you’ve got a full board,” Arp told Honeycutt.


“I’m looking forward to working with all of them,” Honeycutt replied.

The Loudon County School board has been the focus of much criticism over the school system’s budget, overcrowding, the stalled building program and maintenance issues.


The school system has already seen some change with the retirement of long time Director of Schools Edward Headlee, who was replaced by Honeycutt.

Jenkins, who left the county commission to become property assessor, was also sworn in Monday for his first full term in office. Jenkins replaced Arp who left the assessor’s office to become county mayor. 


Arp told the new elected officials he was “looking forward to working with everybody.” He added his office was “always open” to them and they should all work together “to do better for Loudon County and for the kids.”