Election 2018 Is On

The 2018 election season is officially underway. Last Friday was the first day candidates were able to pick up their qualifying petitions to seek office. To seek office in a county election, a candidate must get at least 25 signatures of registered voters from the district they are seeking office in or if a county wide election 25 signatures of registered county voters.

A number of candidates have already picked up their petitions and a few have already returned their petitions and qualified. The list below from the Loudon County Election Commission shows the first day's activities.

There are already several contested races shaping up. Incumbent county mayor, Buddy Bradshaw, will be challenged by incumbent 6th District commissioner, Steve Harrelson. Incumbent Sheriff, Tim Guider, may see two challengers. Two Loudon city officers, Scott Newman and Marty Ward have picked up petitions to seek the sheriff's office.

Loudon County Court Clerk Darlene Russell announced earlier this year that she would be retiring at the end of her term. Two candidates, Lisa Bridges and Carrie McKelvey have both picked up petitions to run for that office. McKelvey currently works in the County Court Clerk's office for Darlene Russell. Bridges currently works in the General Sessions Court office for Lisa Niles.

In the 5th District race, former commissioner, Sharon Yarbrough has picked up a petition to challenge me for seat "B". The 6th District commission seat being vacated by Steve Harrelson who is running for county mayor, already has two candidates for that seat. Mark Matlock and Adam Waller have pick up petitions to run for that office.

Sadly, Lisa "Sue The Tax Payers To Death" Niles has already filed her petition to seek re-election. How sad is that. One might think she would be to embarrassed to ask anyone to vote for her. Guess not.

Qualifying will continue till 12:00 noon, February 15th. I suspect we'll see lots more candidates come forward by then.

I'll keep you posted.

Office Name Petition issued Date Returned
County Mayor Buddy Bradshaw ( R ) 11/17/2017  
  Steve Harrelson ( R)  11/17/2017 11/17/2017
County Commission
District 1 Seat A Kelly Littleton Brewster ( R) 11/17/2017  
District 1 Seat B      
District 2 Seat A      
District 2 Seat B Earlena Maples (D ) 11/17/2017  
District 3 Bill Satterfield ( R) 11/17/2017  
District 4 Gary Whitfield ( R) 11/17/2017  
District 5 Seat A Harold Duff ( R)    
Dsitrcit 5 Seat B Van Shaver ( R) 11/17/2017  
  Sharon Yarbrough (R ) 11/17/2017  
District 6 Mark Matlock ( R) 11/17/2017  
  Adam Waller ( R) 11/17/2017  
District 7 Henry Cullen ( R)     
Trustee George "Chip" Miller ( R) 11/17/2017 11/17/2017
  Scott Newman ( R) 11/17/2017  
  Marty Ward ( R ) 11/17/2017  
Circuit Court Clerk Lisa P. Niles ( R)  11/17/2017 11/17/2017
County Clerk Lisa Bridges ( R) 11/17/2017  
  Carrie Mc Kelvey ( R) 11/17/2017  
Register of Deeds      
Road Superintendent Eddie Simpson ( R ) 11/17/2017 11/17/2017