Ballot Set

With Thursday's qualifying deadline past, the August ballot is set and over all there won't be many contested races. Only one school board seat is contested. Incumbent 5th district board member Gary Ubben will be challenged by Robert Dishner. Incumbent board member did not qualify to seek re-election.

The only other contested race will be for Lenoir City judge. Three candidates qualified and will face off in August.

The lack of many contested races will surely cause a very light turnout in the election.

Office Name Petition issued Date Returned 
United States House of Representatives 2nd Congressional District (Issued locally) Stuart Starr (D) 3/11/2016 4/4/2016
State of Tennessee House of Representatives 21 st       
  Jimmy L. Matlock  ( R ) 1/8/2016 3/7/2016
 (Monroe Co) Pamela "Pam" Weston (D) 1/19/2016 3/29/2016
 (Monroe Co) William James Vandever ( I) 1/8/2016 2/2/2016
State of Tennessee House of Representatives 32nd       
  Kent D. Calfee ( R) (Roane Co) 1/8/2016 3/22/2016
  Corey B. Stafford (D)(Roane Co) 3/17/2016 3/30/2016
  Tyler Overstreet (I) (Roane Co) 3/30/2016 4/5/2016
State Executive Democratic Committee Woman 5th Senatorial District  Catherine Denenberg (Anderson Co) 3/28/2016 4/6/2016
9th Judicial District Criminal Court Judge      
  Jeff Wicks (Roane Co.) 1/8/2016 2/5/2016
County School Board      
County School Board District 1 Seat A      
  Kenny Ridings 1/8/2016 1/15/2016
County School Board District 1 Seat B      
  Scott Newman 1/8/2016 3/22/2016
County School Board District 3      
  Philip Moffett 1/14/2016 2/11/2016
County School Board District 5 Seat A      
  Brian Brown 1/8/2016 2/1/2016
County School Board District 5 Seat B      
  Robert Dishner 1/19/2016 3/22/2016
  Gary Ubben 1/19/2016 4/1/2016
County School Board District 7      
  Craig Simon 1/12/2016 2/1/2016
Lenoir City Judge      
  Walter Johnson 3/29/2016 4/4/2016
  Robin McNabb 4/1/2016 4/5/2016
  Porsche Shantz 3/30/2016 4/5/2016