And They're Off

The race for the May 2010 Loudon County primary election is officially underway. Friday was the first day for candidates to pick up their qualifying petitions. Anyone planning to run for any office in May must get at least 25 signatures of registered voters from their district, if a district race, or from registered voters county wide if seeking a county wide seat. There will be 17 elected positions on the May ballot.

Several incumbents and some challengers wasted no time in picking up petitions. Incumbents picking up petitions were commissioners David Meers 1st district, Earlena Maples, Austin Shaver both 2nd district, Harold Duff 5th district, Wayne Gardin 6th district and Don Miller 7th district. Estell Herron Trustee, Lisa Niles Circuit Court Clerk and Tracie Littleton Register of Deeds.

Challengers who have picked up petitions are me, Van Shaver for County Mayor, William Culvhouse for 1st district commission seat "A" currently held by Nancy Marcus, Steve Cook for Sheriff currently held by Tim Guider, Judy Hines for Circuit Court Clerk currently held by Lisa Niles. In a rare occurrence, one of the fee office incumbents is not seeking reelection. Long time County Court Clerk Riley Wampler is retiring. Three have picked up petitions for the office. Nicholas Bradshaw, Darlene Russell and Angie Vittatoe.

Candidates have until February 18th 2010, 12 noon to pick up and return their petitions to the Loudon County Election Commission to qualify for the May election.

I will keep you updated as candidates pick up petitions.

Positions On May Ballot

County Mayor
Register Of Deeds
Circuit Court Clerk
County Court Clerk
Road Commissioner

County Commission

1st District Seat A
1st District Seat B

2nd District Seat A
2nd District Seat B

3rd District

4th District

5th District Seat A
5th District Seat B

6th District

7th District